MedicalAidZA

Scheme reviews

Bestmed Medical Scheme 2026: Beat, Pace and Rhythm plans explained

By MedicalAidZA editorial team · 7 min read · Updated 29 September 2026

Bestmed: open medical scheme, MedicalAidZA review
Type
Open medical scheme, self-administered
Size
Over 250 000 members (Bestmed home page; year not stated)
Options for 2026
14 across Beat, Pace and Rhythm
2026 increase
6.8% average, the lowest among the top five open schemes
2027 increase
Not announced when we checked on 29 September 2026
Child dependants
Under 24; you pay for a maximum of three children
Administrator
Self-administered
Member line
086 000 2378 (0860 002 378)
Emergency
082 911
2026 options
14

Bestmed is an open medical scheme, so anyone can apply, and it says it is South Africa's largest self-administered scheme, with over 250 000 members. In 2026 it offers 14 options in three ranges: Beat for hospital and savings plans, Pace for comprehensive cover and Rhythm for network-only, income-priced plans.

Rhythm, the income-priced network range, is the closest thing Bestmed has to a low-income option, and some websites still leave it out.

The details below come from Bestmed's 2026 brochures and plan pages. We could not open bestmed.co.za directly during our 29 September 2026 check, so we read them from archived copies of the official pages taken between April and June 2026. Confirm every figure on bestmed.co.za before you decide.

Who Bestmed suits, and who it does not

Bestmed suits people who want a self-administered scheme with a clear ladder: hospital-only at the bottom, savings plans in the middle and comprehensive plans at the top. It is worth a look if you want a hospital plan with or without a network, or if you are a lower earner who can live with a network GP.

It suits you less well if you need a wide choice of doctors on a low budget. The cheapest routes, the network versions of Beat and the Rhythm options, all direct you to designated providers, and Rhythm requires you to choose a Rhythm GP.

Because we read the 2026 figures from archived pages, confirm any benefit or limit that matters to you on the live site or with the scheme.

What to know about Bestmed in 2026

  • Bestmed is an open medical scheme, described by the scheme in 2024 as the fourth largest open scheme and the largest self-administered scheme in South Africa (the 2026 company profile repeats 'largest self-administered'). (fanews.co.za)
  • 2026 contribution increase: 6.8% average increase for 2026 (the lowest among the top five open schemes). (fanews.co.za)
  • Bestmed has 14 benefit options across three ranges: Beat (hospital and savings, with Network versions of Beat1, 2 and 3), Pace (comprehensive) and Rhythm (network-only). (bestmed.co.za)
  • Rhythm1 and Rhythm2 are income-banded network options: Rhythm1 costs R1 736 to R3 615 for the main member, Rhythm2 R2 747 to R3 516, and both need a Rhythm GP. (bestmed.co.za)
  • Beat3 Plus was introduced with a 25% annual savings account, with unutilised savings carried over to the next year and earning interest. (bestmed.co.za)
  • Bestmed says there are no automatic self-payment gaps on any option and that Tempo wellness is free to all members. (bestmed.co.za)
  • Bestmed was named News24 Medical Scheme of the Year in the News24 Business Awards 2024. (bestmed.co.za)
  • Child dependants are those under 24, and you pay for a maximum of three children. (bestmed.co.za)
  • International travel cover of up to R5 000 000 per family for 90 days holiday or 60 days business travel (R1 000 000 for the USA). (bestmed.co.za)
  • Trustee elections for 2026: voting opened Friday 9 January 2026 and closed 9 February 2026. (bestmed.co.za)

Bestmed plans and prices in 2026

Bestmed Medical Scheme publishes 14 benefit options for 2026. Prices are the monthly contribution for a main member as published by Bestmed, and income-banded plans show the band. Adult and child dependants pay extra. Checked on 29 September 2026.

OptionType2026 contribution (main member)
Beat1Hospital planR2 523 main member (adult R1 959, child R1 061) on the full hospital list; R2 269 (adult R1 764, child R956) on the Beat1 Network version
Beat1 NetworkNetworkR2 269 main member; adult R1 764; child R956
Beat2SaverR3 084 main member (adult R2 395, child R1 299), of which R493 is savings
Beat2 NetworkNetworkR2 775 main member (adult R2 156, child R1 167), of which R444 is savings
Beat3SaverR4 514 main member (adult R3 220, child R1 593), of which R677 is savings
Beat3 NetworkNetworkR4 062 main member (adult R2 898, child R1 434), of which R609 is savings
Beat3 PlusSaverR5 042 main member (adult R3 746, child R1 902), of which R1 261 is savings
Beat4ComprehensiveR7 365 main member (adult R6 082, child R1 821), of which R1 031 is savings
Pace1ComprehensiveR5 934 main member (adult R4 289, child R1 541), of which R1 127 is savings
Pace2ComprehensiveR8 766 main member (adult R8 596, child R1 933)
Pace3ComprehensiveR10 064 main member (adult R8 101, child R1 731)
Pace4ComprehensiveR12 572 main member (adult R12 572, child R2 945)
Rhythm1Income-based / entry-levelR1 736 main member (income R0 to R9 000) to R3 615 (income above R14 001); middle band R9 001 to R14 000 = R2 024; child R715 to R1 873
Rhythm2Income-based / entry-levelR2 747 main member (income R0 to R5 500) to R3 516 (income above R8 501); middle band R5 501 to R8 500 = R3 300; child R1 653 to R1 759

Sources: bestmed.co.za/...-product-brochure-2026-3.pdf, bestmed.co.za/...-product-brochure-2026-3.pdf, bestmed.co.za/...-product-brochure-2026-3.pdf, bestmed.co.za/...-product-brochure-2026-3.pdf, bestmed.co.za/...-product-brochure-2026-3.pdf, bestmed.co.za/...1-product-brochure-20262.pdf, bestmed.co.za/...2-product-brochure-20262.pdf, bestmed.co.za/...3-product-brochure-20262.pdf, bestmed.co.za/...4-product-brochure-20262.pdf, bestmed.co.za/...m1-2026-product-brochure.pdf, bestmed.co.za/...m2-2026-product-brochure.pdf.

The three ranges and 14 options

RangeOptionsWhat it is
BeatBeat1, Beat1 Network, Beat2, Beat2 Network, Beat3, Beat3 Network, Beat3 Plus, Beat4Hospital plans, most with a savings account; Beat4 is a comprehensive hybrid
PacePace1, Pace2, Pace3, Pace4Comprehensive in- and out-of-hospital cover with extensive day-to-day benefits and a savings account
RhythmRhythm1, Rhythm2Network-only options priced by income, with no savings account

Beat1 is in-hospital cover only at private hospitals, and day-to-day costs are for your own account. Beat2 adds a savings account and limited day-to-day benefits. Beat3 adds selected risk benefits, including generous maternity cover, extensive in-hospital cover and cover for chronic conditions. Beat3 Plus is new on Bestmed's 2026 home page: it has a 25% savings account, extra out-of-hospital benefits, and unspent savings carry over and earn interest.

Bestmed lists each option's contribution in its brochure, so we do not repeat the price of each option here, including Beat2. See the contribution table on this page where it appears, and confirm on bestmed.co.za.

Bestmed contact numbers

Checked on 29 September 2026 against Bestmed's official website. Numbers change, so confirm on the linked page before you call. A scheme will not ask you to pay into a new bank account over the phone: hang up and call the official number if anything feels off.

What you needHow to reach Bestmed
General contact / member service (Pretoria head office)086 000 2378 (0860 002 378)
Claims, chronic illness and medication information[email protected]
Hospital authorisation[email protected]
Direct sales / new business[email protected]
Maternity and infant care (email only)[email protected]
Anonymous fraud and ethics hotline[email protected]
Netcare 911 emergency services (24h)082 911
Tempo wellness (email only)[email protected]
Regional offices (service email and phone)Cape Town +27 (0)21 202 8808; Durban +27 (0)31 279 5420; Gqeberha +27 (0)41 363 8921; Nelspruit +27 (0)13 101 0280
WhatsApp button on the home page (label not stated)068 376 7212
Council for Medical Schemes (complaints regulator)+27 86 112 3267
AppBestmed App: Digital membership card, check available benefits, submit claims, find a healthcare provider, check Health Assessment results, request tax and membership certificates (App Store, G

Sources: bestmed.co.za/resources/contact-us, bestmed.co.za, medicalschemes.co.za/pmb. All schemes' numbers are on our medical aid contact numbers page.

Network versions and the Rhythm range

The Network versions of Beat1, Beat2 and Beat3 trade hospital choice for a lower contribution. On Beat1 Network, a co-payment of R15 025 applies if you voluntarily use a hospital outside the network, according to Bestmed's 2026 brochure. Ask what the co-payment is on the network version of the plan you are considering.

Rhythm1 and Rhythm2 are income-priced network-only options, with three income bands each and a lower price for the lowest band. Both use designated service providers. Rhythm1 has a Rhythm GP network with unlimited GP visits and preventative care. Rhythm2 offers unlimited family practitioner visits and preventative care. Neither has a savings account. Read network versus traditional plans and low-income medical aid.

Savings and day-to-day cover

Savings options are Beat2, Beat3 and Beat3 Plus, and Pace and Beat4 add extensive day-to-day cover on top. Rhythm has no savings account but includes GP visits. Beat1 leaves day-to-day to you.

Bestmed says there are no automatic self-payment gaps on any option, and it is worth asking what that means in practice for the option you are considering. We could not verify how each option's limits work, so check the exact rules. Understand how a savings account differs from a risk benefit in medical savings accounts and day-to-day benefits.

Chronic cover, PMBs and extras

Every option must pay prescribed minimum benefits in full, which includes the 26 chronic conditions on the Chronic Disease List. Beat3 also lists cover for chronic conditions as a feature, and Pace options carry extensive day-to-day benefits. Ask for the option's chronic medicine list and check your own medicine by name. See the chronic disease benefits guide.

Other published features include free Tempo wellness for all members, and international travel cover of up to R5 000 000 per family for 90 days of holiday or 60 days of business travel (R1 000 000 for the USA). Treat travel cover as a benefit with conditions and read the terms. It does not replace travel insurance unless the scheme confirms it does.

What changed for 2026, and what to expect for 2027

Range. Beat3 Plus is marked as new for 2026 on Bestmed's home page.

Contributions. Bestmed's average increase for 2026 was 6.8%, the lowest among the top five open schemes in an Alexforbes analysis, compared with 9.9% for Momentum and 8.88% for Bonitas. Bestmed had not announced 2027 increases when we checked on 29 September 2026. The Council for Medical Schemes has recommended that schemes anchor 2027 increases at 3.8%. See our 2027 increases page.

Recognition. Bestmed was named News24 Medical Scheme of the Year in the 2024 News24 Business Awards.

Size. Bestmed's home page says it has over 250 000 members.

How Bestmed compares

  • Discovery Health is the obvious comparison for comprehensive and savings plans, and its KeyCare plans are income-based, like Rhythm.
  • Bonitas has 16 plans in 2026 and an income-based BonCap, and it is administered by Momentum Health since 1 June 2026.
  • Momentum Medical Scheme has six options, including the income-based Ingwe.
  • Medshield has eight options and announced a 7.9% average increase for 2027.

What sets Bestmed apart is that it is self-administered, so it runs its own member services rather than using an outside administrator. Whether that shows in service is something to test with current members. Read hospital plan versus comprehensive for the trade-off, and how to compare medical aid plans to test each option against your own needs.

How to join, waiting periods and how to complain

You can join through bestmed.co.za, the Bestmed App or a registered broker. The app gives you a digital membership card, lets you check benefits, submit claims, find a provider, view Health Assessment results and request tax and membership certificates.

Bestmed is an open scheme, so it must accept anyone who applies and can pay, but waiting periods can apply. With no cover for at least 90 days, up to three months general and up to 12 months condition-specific waiting periods are allowed. A late joiner penalty can apply if you are 35 or older and were not continuously covered. See waiting periods and the late joiner guide.

For a complaint, use Bestmed's own process first and keep your references. If it is not resolved, the Council for Medical Schemes can review it, and it acknowledges complaints within six working days. Use our complaints guide and the contact numbers hub.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bestmed contact number?

According to Bestmed's website (checked 29 September 2026), the member line is 086 000 2378 (0860 002 378), and for an emergency or ambulance call 082 911. Confirm on the official site before calling, because numbers change.

What does Beat2 cost on Bestmed?

Bestmed sets the Beat2 contribution in its yearly brochure, and there is a Beat2 Network version that costs less. We could not verify the live price during our check, so confirm it on bestmed.co.za or with a broker. Beat2 is a hospital plan with a savings account and limited day-to-day benefits.

Is Bestmed self-administered?

Yes. Bestmed says it is the largest self-administered scheme in South Africa, meaning it runs its own administration. It is an open scheme, so anyone can apply, subject to waiting periods.

What is the difference between Beat, Pace and Rhythm?

Beat is the hospital range, with savings on Beat2 and above and a comprehensive hybrid in Beat4. Pace is the comprehensive range with a savings account. Rhythm is a network-only range priced by income, with no savings account.

What is the cheapest Bestmed option?

The income-based Rhythm options and the network versions of Beat are the entry points. Rhythm is priced by income band, so your price depends on your earnings. Confirm current prices on bestmed.co.za.

Does Bestmed have a hospital plan?

Yes. Beat1 is a hospital plan with in-hospital cover only at private hospitals and day-to-day costs for your own account. Beat1 Network is the cheaper network version. Beat2 and Beat3 add savings.

How do I contact Bestmed?

We could not verify Bestmed's phone numbers on its site during our 29 September 2026 check, so we do not publish them. Use the number on your membership card, the Bestmed App or bestmed.co.za, and avoid numbers from search results. Unresolved complaints can go to the Council for Medical Schemes.

How many children do I pay for on Bestmed?

Child dependants are those under 24, and you pay for a maximum of three children. Check the rule with Bestmed before you add or remove a dependant.

Are there waiting periods on Bestmed?

They can apply. With no cover in the last 90 days a scheme may impose up to three months general and 12 months condition-specific waiting periods. Switching with a shorter gap limits this, and prescribed minimum benefit treatment is not subject to those shorter-gap waiting periods.