Scheme reviews
Umvuzo Health Medical Scheme: a restricted scheme, plans and cover in 2026
By MedicalAidZA editorial team · 6 min read · Updated 29 September 2026

- Scheme type
- Restricted: employer groups and their employees only
- Registered with the CMS
- 1 July 2004
- Options for 2026
- Five: Ultra Affordable, Standard, Activator, Supreme, Extreme
- Average increase for 2026
- 7.99%
- Size, 31 December 2025
- 57 056 members, 107 556 beneficiaries
- Solvency ratio, 31 December 2025
- 54.58% (legal minimum 25%)
- Hospital network
- None: all hospital groups; PPN network for optometry only
- Apps
- Umvuzo Health Mobile App and Umvuzo Care App
- Status
- restricted scheme
- Administrator
- Self-administered
- Member line
- 0861 083 084
- Emergency
- 082 911
- 2026 options
- 5
No, Umvuzo Health is not an open scheme. It is a restricted (closed) medical scheme, registered with the Council for Medical Schemes (CMS) on 1 July 2004, and membership is only available through participating employer groups and their employees. An individual cannot apply on their own.
If your employer takes part, you can choose from five options for 2026: Ultra Affordable, Standard, Activator, Supreme and Extreme. Only Ultra Affordable is income-based. Umvuzo is self-administered, had 57 056 members and 107 556 beneficiaries at 31 December 2025, and reported a solvency ratio of 54.58% against the 25% minimum.
Contact numbers and 2026 contributions are in the tables on this page, taken from Umvuzo Health's own site.
Can you join Umvuzo? Restricted means employer groups only
The CMS register lists Umvuzo Health as restricted, and the scheme's 2025 annual report describes it the same way. Restricted schemes are for a particular employer group, profession, industry or union. The CMS reports 71 registered schemes, 16 open and 55 restricted, and Umvuzo is one of the 55.
In practice that means you cannot search for Umvuzo, fill in a form and join. Ask your employer whether it participates in Umvuzo Health. Employers and brokers who want to set up a group use the contacts on the scheme's site.
If your employer is not a participant, you need a different scheme. Start with the list of medical aid schemes in South Africa, then compare with low-income medical aid and cheapest medical aid. The how to join guide lists the documents you need.
What to know about Umvuzo in 2026
- Umvuzo Health is a restricted (closed) medical scheme registered with the CMS on 1 July 2004; membership is only through employer groups and their employees, so individuals cannot join on their own. It is NOT an open scheme. (umvuzohealth.co.za)
- 2026 contribution increase: 7.99% scheme average contribution adjustment for 2026, with benefit inflation between 4% and 6%. (umvuzohealth.co.za)
- Umvuzo Health is restricted to employer groups and their employees; an individual cannot apply on their own. (umvuzohealth.co.za)
- 2026 contributions rose by a scheme average of 7.99% and benefits improved across all five options. (umvuzohealth.co.za)
- At 31 December 2025 the scheme had 57,056 members and 107,556 beneficiaries and a solvency ratio of 54.58% (statutory minimum 25%). (umvuzohealth.co.za)
- Only the Ultra Affordable option is income-based: contributions differ for income below or above R11 000. (umvuzohealth.co.za)
- Supreme is described by the scheme as its best-selling option. (umvuzohealth.co.za)
- All options give unlimited hospitalisation at all hospital groups (pre-authorisation required, scheme rates apply); the only network is the PPN network for optometry, and using a non-network optometrist reduces benefits. (umvuzohealth.co.za)
- Chronic medicine on the Ultra Affordable option is unlimited subject to formulary, for the 27 CDL PMB conditions plus selective HRT, and requires registration on the disease management programme. (umvuzohealth.co.za)
- Ultra Affordable members can never run out of GP consultations: 8 in-person visits, then more through the Umvuzo Care App. (umvuzohealth.co.za)
- Per the minutes of the previous AGM (reporting on 2024), the chairperson told members that Alexander Forbes' Medical Aid Insights report ranked Umvuzo Health 3rd on its Medical Schemes Sustainability Index; treat as a dated claim. (umvuzohealth.co.za)
Umvuzo plans and prices in 2026
Umvuzo Health Medical Scheme publishes 5 benefit options for 2026. Prices are the monthly contribution for a main member as published by Umvuzo, and income-banded plans show the band. Adult and child dependants pay extra. Checked on 29 September 2026.
| Option | Type | 2026 contribution (main member) |
|---|---|---|
| Ultra Affordable | Income-based / entry-level | Income below R11 000: R1 564.00 main member, R1 564.00 adult, R758.00 child. Income above R11 000: R2 302.00 main member, R2 302.00 adult, R919.00 child. |
| Standard | Comprehensive family / mid-range | R3 106.00 main member, R2 949.00 adult dependant, R942.00 child dependant |
| Activator | Wellness / mid-range | R3 250.00 main member, R3 055.00 adult dependant, R977.00 child dependant |
| Supreme | High-level comprehensive | R3 727.00 main member, R3 503.00 adult dependant, R1 119.00 child dependant |
| Extreme | Top-tier comprehensive | R4 883.00 main member, R4 590.00 adult dependant, R1 490.00 child dependant |
Sources: umvuzohealth.co.za/...ra-affordable-benefit-option, umvuzohealth.co.za/2026-standard-benefit-option, umvuzohealth.co.za/2026-activator-benefit-option, umvuzohealth.co.za/2026-supreme-benefit-option, umvuzohealth.co.za/2026-extreme-benefit-option.
The five 2026 options and who each suits
| Option | Level | Day-to-day and specialists | Chronic cover |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ultra Affordable | Entry, the only income-based option | 8 in-person GP visits, then unlimited via the Umvuzo Care App; 7 specialist visits per family a year | Unlimited for the 27 CDL conditions plus selective HRT, subject to formulary and registration |
| Standard | Mid-range | 10 in-person GP visits then unlimited digital; 10 specialist visits per family a year | CDL unlimited plus 6 additional conditions |
| Activator | Mid-range, prevention-focused | Uses the Healthy Me programme; 12 specialist visits per family a year | Not stated in the material we reviewed |
| Supreme | High, the scheme's best-selling option | Day-to-day cover from a pooled family benefit | CDL unlimited plus 9 additional conditions from the family benefit |
| Extreme | Top tier | Highest limits, for example joint replacements up to R68 300 and specialised dentistry up to R15 700 per beneficiary a year | Not stated in the material we reviewed |
All five give unlimited hospitalisation at all hospital groups, with pre-authorisation and scheme rates applying. Umvuzo's 2025 annual report also mentions a sixth, efficiency-discounted option that the website does not list for 2026, so ask your employer which options your group offers.
Ultra Affordable is the only option whose contribution depends on income, with two bands split at R11 000 a month. The others charge a fixed contribution per member type. For how contributions compare, see the cheapest medical aid guide.
Umvuzo contact numbers
Checked on 29 September 2026 against Umvuzo's official website. Numbers change, so confirm on the linked page before you call. A scheme will not ask you to pay into a new bank account over the phone: hang up and call the official number if anything feels off.
| What you need | How to reach Umvuzo |
|---|---|
| Call centre and authorisations (pre-authorisation call centre, 24/7/365) | 0861 083 084 |
| Head office switchboard | +27 (0) 12 845 0000 |
| Please Call Me: client services | 060 070 2095 |
| Please Call Me: hospital, specialist, chronic medication | 060 070 2352 |
| 087 727 7566 | |
| Emergency / ambulance (Netcare 911) | 082 911 |
| [email protected] | |
| Head office address | Building D, Alenti Office Park, 457 Witherite Road, The Willows, Pretoria, 0040 |
| App | Umvuzo Health Mobile App (member app) and Umvuzo Care App (virtual consultations): Member app: digital membership card, statements and claims history, authorisation requests. Care App: virtual consultations with healthcare professionals. |
Sources: umvuzohealth.co.za/contact, umvuzohealth.co.za. All schemes' numbers are on our medical aid contact numbers page.
Hospitals, networks and chronic conditions
Umvuzo does not restrict your hospital. Every option covers admission at all hospital groups. The only network is PPN for optometry, and using an optometrist outside it reduces your benefit. Many entry-level schemes trade a lower contribution for a hospital network, and Umvuzo does not do that on any of its five options. See network versus traditional plans.
For chronic medicine on Ultra Affordable, cover is unlimited subject to formulary for the 27 CDL conditions that are Prescribed Minimum Benefits (PMBs), plus selective HRT. You must register on the disease management programme first. See the prescribed minimum benefits guide and the chronic disease guide.
For emergencies, call Netcare 911 and no other number, because they dispatch the nearest ambulance. The emergency guide explains your rights. Members also have two apps: the Umvuzo Health Mobile App for your digital card, statements, claims history and authorisation requests, and the Umvuzo Care App for virtual consultations.
Size, reserves and reputation
Umvuzo is larger than Genesis or Thebemed. Membership rose from 53 237 members and 96 861 beneficiaries at the end of 2024 to 57 056 and 107 556 a year later. Its solvency ratio was 54.58%, more than twice the legal minimum.
At an earlier annual general meeting (reporting on 2024) the chairperson told members that an Alexander Forbes report ranked Umvuzo third on its Medical Schemes Sustainability Index. Treat that as a dated statement from the scheme's own meeting, not an independent rating.
Increases for 2026 and what to expect for 2027
Umvuzo raised contributions by a scheme average of 7.99% for 2026, with benefit inflation between 4% and 6% and improved benefits on all five options. The CMS's assumption for restricted schemes' 2026 increases, drawn from scheme submissions, was 9.44%, so Umvuzo came in below it.
It held its 2026 benefit launch on 3 October 2025, and had announced nothing for 2027 as of 29 September 2026. The CMS recommended in Circular 20 of 2026 that 2027 increases be anchored at 3.8%. See our 2027 increases page.
Alternatives if your employer is not on Umvuzo
Thebemed is registered as open but serves mainly mining, logistics and agriculture workers, with income-banded entry options. See the Thebemed review.
Bonitas has an income-based entry plan called BonCap and is an open scheme, so no employer link is needed. See Bonitas BonCap and the Bonitas review.
Sizwe Hosmed is open but has been under provisional curatorship since 4 September 2025, so check its position before you consider it. See the Sizwe Hosmed review.
Umvuzo's strengths are its size, no hospital network and a pooled family benefit. Its limits are that you need the right employer and that plan details vary by option.
Joining through your employer, waiting periods and complaints
Once your employer participates, you join through it. Waiting periods of up to 3 months general and 12 months condition-specific can apply, and a late joiner penalty can apply if you are 35 or older with no proof of earlier cover. See the waiting periods guide and late joiner penalty guide.
Two contact details need care. The "Please Call Me" lines on the scheme's site are call-back requests, not numbers you phone, and the WhatsApp links on the site go to a different number from the one printed on its contact page. Use the contact table on this page and check the number against the site or app.
Complain to Umvuzo first. If that fails, the CMS takes complaints at [email protected] or 0861 123 267. See how to complain to the CMS.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Umvuzo contact number?
According to Umvuzo's website (checked 29 September 2026), the member line is 0861 083 084, and for an emergency or ambulance call 082 911. Confirm on the official site before calling, because numbers change.
Is Umvuzo an open scheme?
No. Umvuzo Health is a restricted scheme, and the CMS lists it as restricted. Membership is only through participating employer groups and their employees.
Can I join Umvuzo as an individual?
No. The employer must participate in the scheme. Ask your employer whether it uses Umvuzo Health. If not, you need an open scheme instead.
What plans does Umvuzo offer in 2026?
Five: Ultra Affordable, Standard, Activator, Supreme and Extreme. Supreme is described as the best-selling option, and Ultra Affordable is the only one priced by income.
Does Umvuzo have an income-based plan?
Yes, Ultra Affordable. Its contribution depends on whether your monthly income is below or above R11 000. The other four options have fixed contributions.
Does Umvuzo have a hospital network?
No hospital network applies. All options cover admission at all hospital groups with pre-authorisation. Only optometry uses a network, called PPN.
How much did Umvuzo increase in 2026?
A scheme average of 7.99% for 2026. It had not announced 2027 contributions by 29 September 2026.
How financially strong is Umvuzo?
Its solvency ratio was 54.58% at 31 December 2025, against a legal minimum of 25%. It had 57 056 members and 107 556 beneficiaries.





